Therapy

Grounding techniques

Grounding techniques

Grounding techniques

If you have walked on a beach or barefoot on grass you know how refreshing these activities are. The grounding techniques discussed here put your body closer to nature; this is the way it is supposed to be. Before the invention of clothing, the indigenous people like to run without shoes and had no problem with this. We are part of nature so by distancing from it we are affecting our body’s normal responses.

By grounding techniques I mean: being in contact with the earth. Do you know how an appliance needs to be grounded to function properly? You need the same care. Sounds ridiculous but your toaster is better grounded than yourself, certainly, we don’t realize how many electromagnetic fields we are in contact with; WiFi, cell phones, laptops, microwaves, appliances. Every electric power line produces a magnetic field.

These magnetic fields can affect your health, this is a recent phenomenon, today you see people with a cell phone all day close to their body even children. Traditional Chinese doctors recommend people to not wear quartz watches because the watch interferes with the normal electromagnetic field or the human body. You can get grounding products online, but i like to build things myself so I can save money.


Grounding techniques/grounding your bed

You can ground your bed with a piece of “metal” window screen, duct tape, a fuse, some wire, and a metal hanger that acts as a stake on the ground. The fuse is just a precaution measure, anyway, if there is a lightning storm near your home, just disconnect the fuse, the probability of a ray hitting your ground stake is very low, you may win the lottery instead.

The disadvantage of this is that I move a lot at night, so I tend to move the window screen and this displaces the duct tape, and spikes of window screen appear on the edges that pinch like needles and bother me. The solution was to add a silicon frame to the metal window screen and add extra duct tape.


Hands-on

Disarm the metal hanger and cut a 16-inch piece with tweezers.

Get some sandpaper and take off the finished painting from the metal hanger on both ends, so it becomes more conductive then dig it to your garden soil, the deeper the better; with an electric wire connect the hanger to the fuse compartment, insert a fuse and then solder/connect the fuse out to the window screen on your bed. Put your bed sheets as always (cotton preferably), and try to sleep without a shirt to have more contact with the screen.

I do not recommend grounding your bed to the ground in your electrical outlet unless you live on a high building and have no other choice, and you have checked with an electrician if the ground is properly wired, sometimes is not…especially in old buildings and houses. You might need a digital true RMS multimeter to test if it is working and to see the voltage that your body is conducting. Set the multi-meter to read ±.001 volts.


Grounding options

If you don’t want to ground your bed

One option is to use an electromagnetic wristband, the one used by an electronic repairman to eliminate charges that damage sensitive electronic components; but I tend to move a lot my arms while sleeping and it is not that comfortable.

Another option is to use a disposable ECG patch on any part of your body that connects to the fuse of your grounding installation, I put the patch on my leg and it works. The only drawback is to get the cable that connects the patch to the ground, I used an alligator clamp in the beginning. You can order patches and cables over the internet (search “Earthing patches”), or search some medical supply companies that make those cables. I am a little handyman so I like to save money by doing things myself, in case earthing don’t work for me or I didn’t like it, I have not spent a fortune on gear I don’t use.

The most comfortable way is definitely the bed window metal screen. and it works even with a cotton blanket on top, I just remove my shirt to have more contact with the ground. How do I know? because I used the multimeter to measure the current that passes through my body.

Also, read my post on hyperbaric oxygen therapy.


Conclusion

The easiest “ground technique” is for yourself to return to nature, walk without shoes in the sand or in your own backyard. It’s free; you can go to a near park and try to be more in contact with nature, the fear we have of nature is unfounded, nature has all we need to thrive.

Leave a comment, or subscribe for more health advice.

Good Luck!

Hi, I love to improve myself and others. Reach me on social media or at heribertorangel.com


Join #HealthyEyes news… and Get info fast

comments powered by Disqus

Join Our Newsletter

We can improve our life by bringing attention to what we do every day, how we take care of our body and mind.

Subscribe

* indicates required