India

How to fast 4 days

How to fast 4 days

Fasting is probably the best way to regain your health and to improve your blood chemistry. Today blood testing allows us to know how to fast and the beneficial aspects of fasting. It is an ancient tradition in many cultures and has well-known benefits.

Modern man tends to dismiss the use of fasting preferring to use medication to alleviate the symptoms of a disease.

All animals fast when ill and we should do the same. Actually, fasting is easy physically but hard psychologically. I have fasted for 24, 48 and 72 hours several times, the 24 hour fast is the easiest and common fast and can be done by anyone.

Be careful if you are diabetic or suffer from other conditions, is a good idea to ask a doctor if you can do this, unfortunately, few doctors know about fasting or have fasted themselves, how can you recommend or dismiss something you have not tried?

Why do you want to fast? cleansing, lose some pounds, more energy, improve a degenerative condition? Fasting can improve all of this but is not a panacea for every problem you might have.

Since each person is different you need to inform yourself and try it, not everybody can fast, if you want to learn how to fast, you need to read about it or get the book I recommend.


My four day fast

This is the log of my last four day fast:

Fasting Day 1

Day 1 is easy, you just need to be busy with your work and not think about food at all. Avoid places where you usually eat food and take lots of water.

You will feel fine actually just be careful with habits like watching television and eating and you will be fine.

Fasting Day 2

Get busy, ideas of eating will come and go so you need to stay focused on your goal. This day is much like day 1, urine shows no ketones in the morning.

Avoid friends and people that will ruin your fast, if you are not busy your mind will crave food and fail.

Fasting Day 3

Everything is OK, a few ketones in urine in the morning showing that your body is entering ketosis. Boredom is enemy number one, I start to feel a little weak.

Fasting Day 4

A moderate amount of ketones in the urine (40mg/dl), I feel fine no headache whatsoever. I notice brighter colors in the supermarket and skin rash I had diminishes, weakness continues and after some trouble sleeping at night, I decided to break the fast the next morning.

Fasting Day 5

I give up! large amounts of ketones in urine, I feel fine little weakness and mild headache.. nothing bad really, I could continue but I have decided to break the fast today.

I decided to fast after reading a book by Dr. Joel Fuhrman, you can search for fasting on the net or google Herbert Shelton.


Breaking a fast

I always thought that when people told you to break the fast slowly with fruits and juices over several days they were exaggerating, until in this four-day fast I got a mild arrhythmia after Russian salad and blinis, bad idea.

It was not much food but caused me trouble, I didn’t end up in the ER but it was uncomfortable.

Now I know that the end of a fast is very important, the body has mechanisms to compensate for things like a fast, so you have to be informed and take precautions and be ready.

Next time I will try a five-day fast, my goal is a seven-day fast; the purpose of this is to get rid of the hypertension medication that I sometimes have to take after a hypertension attack five years ago.

Must people don’t know that they can improve their health and get rid of unnecessary medication with a long enough fast.


Conclusion

Fasting is safe and can help you to deal with many problems in a natural way, the hard part is that you need to believe it will work because requires strength of will.

Do you want to give this old practice a try? Let me know with a comment, or subscribe to the newsletter.

Good Luck
Beto R.


Join #HealthyEyes news… and Get info fast

comments powered by Disqus

Join Our Newsletter

We can improve our life by bringing attention to what we do every day, how we take care of our body and mind.

Subscribe

* indicates required